Tuesday 19 December 2023

Best of 2023 mix - Volume 1


As we approach the end of another year, here is my first volume of favorites from 2023. Similar to last year, I haven't been able to listen to nearly enough new releases this year, primarily due to work commitments and a few personal issues at home which have limited the opportunity to seek out and discover new releases. These factors have had a notable impact on my mental health, affecting my mindset when it comes to compiling as many mixes as I have in previous years.  Hopefully things will improve and I'll be a bit more active on the blog next year.

I've still managed to discover some amazing bands, so it wasn't all bad. This first volume features many artists familiar to regular visitors to my blog, along with a few new discoveries. As for my favorite albums of the year, "Gardeners of the Earth" by White Canyon & The 5th Dimension is probably my top pick. Other highlights include "Oas" by Dina Ögon, "Ghost Notes" by John Matthias/Jay Auborn, "The Memory Effect" by Paintbox, and "Dormida en Sus Ojos" by Celistia. The self-titled debut album by Abstract Concrete is my most recent enjoyable discovery, featuring one of my favorite musicians, Charles Hayward, formerly of This Heat and Camberwell Now.

Wishing you all a Happy Christmas, and once again thanks to everybody who has taken the time to post comments on this blog. I hope you enjoy this compilation, coming soon I'll be posting Man Erg's favourite tunes from the past year so that'll be something to look forward to. Cheers!

  1. Les Big Byrd - I'm Living a Saved Life Now (5:14)
  2. Dorotheo - Humano (4:20)
  3. Louis Fontaine - Voyage Cosmique (2:26)
  4. Frankie and the Witch Fingers - Weird Dog (3:57)
  5. Mermaidens - Push It (3:42)
  6. PNEM - Mecari (8:47)
  7. Alice - Deux Mille Trains (2:16)
  8. Abstract Concrete - Sad Bogbrush (3:43)
  9. Sababa 5 - Alpis (3:18)
10. Picot - Si Tu Veux (3:27)
11. Homunculus Res - Viaggio Astrale di una Polpetta (5:15)
12. The Soap Opera - The Clouds Are Laughing at Me (2:08)
13. Motorpsycho - W.C.A. (4:07)
Vanishing Twin - Lotus Eater (4:21)
15. The Gaslamp Killer & The Heliocentrics - Manic Panic (5:00)
16. Sons of Zöku - Möönlight (8:29)
17. David A. Jaycock - White Tea from the Vending Machine (2:59)
18. En Attendant Ana - Wonder (5:47)

 Download FLAC
 Download mp3