Thursday 14 November 2019

Broadcast - We've Got Time

Another band I'm surprised have never released a proper anthology, especially after the tragic death of Trish Keenan in January 2011. There have been a couple of collections released in the past: Work and Non Work in 1997, which consisted of their early singles/EPs, and in 2006 The Future Crayon which compiled B-sides and rare tracks. This collection features songs from their several EPs/singles and studio albums up until 2010. This was quite a tough task, and there are several more tracks I could have included, so in the near future there could well be a 2nd volume. Origin of each track is included in download file.

Short bio: Broadcast were formed in Birmingham in 1995 by Trish Keenan (vocals, keyboards, guitar) and James Cargill (bass). Their musical style blends elements of 1960s American psychedelic rock with electronica, incorporating samples from various sources, and earned the band a cult following. 
The discography of Broadcast, an English indie electronic band, consists of three studio albums, one collaborative mini album, one soundtrack album, two compilation albums, seven extended plays and seven singles.

  1. Belly Dance (3:27)
  2. Papercuts (4:30)
  3. You and Me in Time (1:21)
  4. Minim (2:59)
  5. Still Feels Like Tears (3:39)
  6. We've Got Time (4:11)
  7. Unchanging Window/Chord Simple (6:57)
  8. The Song Before (2:39) *
  9. Until Then (3:46)
10. The Book Lovers (3:32)
11. Distorsion (2:00)
12. Poem of Dead Song (2:30)
13. Tears in the Typing Pool (2:09)
14. Through the Gates of Yesterday/Milling Around the Village (2:30)
15. Come On Let's Go (3:14)
16. Hammer Without a Master (4:58)
17. Oh How I Miss You (1:16)
18. Living Room (3:25)
19. Black Cat (3:56)
20. Where Youth and Laughter Go (2:39)
21. What I Saw (1:02) *
22. Sixty Forty (4:28)
23. Look Outside (3:47)
24. Man Is Not a Bird (4:48)

* featuring The Focus Group