Sunday 21 July 2019

Minutemen - History Lesson

Once again I have to thank Manerg for my introduction to Minutemen, way back in the 80s. Unfortunately the band no longer existed at the time of my introduction, singer/guitarist D. Boon tragically dying in a van accident in late 1985. There just isn't enough space here to attempt a short bio of the band, to those unfamiliar with them I suggest reading the wiki entry on them here.

Minutemen have had the odd anthology released but never really comprehensive, either a collection of live recordings or their early releases compiled on "My First Bells" which was a cassette only release in 1983. In the late 90s, their record label released "Introducing the Minutemen" which did feature songs from their whole catalogue, but for me it was somewhat lacking in content. It was also less than 1 hour long, and only featured a handful of songs from their finest release, the double album "Double Nickels on the Dime". This album features heavily in my collection, of the 48 tracks compiled 13 of them come from it. I'm sure many of you out there will argue about which tracks from each album/EP should have been included, but this is just my own personal favourites, and it did take some deliberating. For instance there's 2 versions of "Little Man With a Gun in his Hand", the first one from the EP "Buzz or Howl Under the Influence of Heat", or the re-recorded version which only features on the vinyl edition of "Double Nickels on the Dime". While the later version is harder to find, I slightly prefer the original recording so picked that.

As ever I have tagged in the music files the origin of each song, but have also included a text file with this information. Hopefully most of you will enjoy this collection of one of the most outstanding underground bands of the 1980s.

  1. Sickles and Hammers (0:47)
  2. History Lesson (0:37)
  3. More Joy (1:08)
  4. Plight (1:37)
  5. Political Song for Michael Jackson to Sing (1:30)
  6. Cut (2:02)
  7. What Is It? (1:50)
  8. Case Closed (1:28)
  9. Ain't Talkin 'Bout Love (0:39)
10. Search (0:51)
11. Dreams are Free Motherfucker! (1:11)
12. Life as a Rehearsal (1:34)
13. My Heart and the Real World (1:05)
14. Lost (2:30)
15. King of the Hill (3:21)
16. Straight Jacket (0:58)
17. History Lesson - Part II (2:11)
18. Futurism Restated (0:55)
19. Below the Belt (0:56)
20. Sell or Be Sold (1:44)
21. Ack Ack Ack (0:27)
22. Tension (1:19)
23. Clocks (0:39)
24. Take 5, D. (1:38)
25. The World According to Nouns (2:06)
26. Take Our Test (2:44)
27. Fake Contest (1:43)
28. I Felt Like a Gringo (2:04)
29. The Red and the Black (4:08)
30. Two Beads at the End (1:52)
31. Cohesion (1:55)
32. Corona (2:25)
33. Working Men are Pissed (1:18)
34. Black Sheep (1:09)
35. 9:30 May 2 (1:04)
36. Mutiny in Jonestown (1:08)
37. Spoken Word Piece (1:07)
38. Dr. Wu (1:44)
39. The Cheerleaders (3:47)
40. Little Man With a Gun in His Hand (3:11)
41. Storm in My House (1:58)
42. Song for El Salvador (0:31)
43. Party With Me Punker (0:55)
44. No Exchange (1:50)
45. Stories (1:35)
46. Tour-Spiel (2:48)
47. The Glory of Man (2:56)
48. Badges (0:39)