Friday 9 July 2021

Françoiz Breut - Sans Souci 1997-2021


Françoiz Breut (b. 10 Dec 1969, Cherbourg France) is a French singer and professional illustrator, establishing herself as an important player on the French music scene in the 1990s. Breut, who is known for melancholy, introspective lyrics and a smoky, jazz-tinged approach to pop/rock, has inspired a variety of comparisons. She sings primarily in French, with an occasional song in English or Spanish, frequently working with collaborators on music and lyrics. She has been compared to the influential ‘60s ye-ye icon Françoise Hardy -- which is perhaps a comparison that comes too easily -- as well as German singer Nico. She has released 7 studio albums, her self-titled debut album came out in 1997, with her most recent album "Flux Flou de la Foule" being released in 2021.

The idea for making a collection of my favourite Françoiz Breut tracks came about when I dug out an old compilation I'd made several years ago, which featured the track "Si Tu Disais" from her 2nd album "Vingt à Trente Mille Jours". Having neglected her most recent albums over the years I decided to track them down and was quite delighted with how good they all are. So, picking just a few favourites from all 7 albums, plus the odd track released as single only, gave me more than enough material to compile what I consider to be a fair reflection of her continued excellence from her debut release up to the present day. I haven't gone overboard on this like previous anthologies, keeping this to CD length.

Favourite albums by her? I'd go for the aforementioned "Vingt à Trente Mille Jours", and her 2016 album "Zoo", but all 7 are definitely worth your attention. As per usual, info containing track origin & year of release is tagged in the music files and in the download file. I hope you enjoy this latest collection, and stay safe!

  1. La Certitude (3:20)
  2. Terre d'Ombre (3:02)
  3. Si Tu Disais (2:23)
  4. Werewolf (3:47)
  5. À Pic ! (4:27)
  6. Comme des Lapons (3:43)
  7. La Fille des Eaux (4:24)
  8. A l'Unisson (3:10)
  9. Les Jeunes Pousses (4:18)
10. Everyone Kisses a Stranger (2:42)
11. Sans Souci (2:40)
12. Une Ville Allongée Sur le Dos (4:25)
13. L'arbre (2:54)
14. Vicky (3:04)
15. Sous Mes Paupières Closes (3:20)
16. Ma Colère (5:21)
17. La Chirurgie des Sentiments (3:44)
18. Nébuleux Bonhomme (1:43)
19. Deep Sea Diver (3:54)
20. Derrière le Grand Filtre (5:52)
21. La Boîte de Nuit (3:36)
22. Tarifa (3:44)

 Download FLAC
 Download mp3