Saturday 19 December 2020

Causa Sui - Rip Tide 2005-2020


Causa Sui is a Danish instrumental psych-rock / stoner rock band composed of Jakob Skøtt, Jonas Munk, Rasmus Rasmussen and Jess Kahr. Beginning with their eponymous debut album, the band has released twelve albums since 2005. Causa Sui's heavy sound is supplemented by abstract, instrumental and ambient styles akin to electric Miles Davis or Can, particularly on their 'Sessions' series of albums, which feature guest musicians. Other cited influences include Popul Vuh, The Allman Brothers Band, and Tame Impala. Causa Sui's sound has been described as the sound of a giant wave rolling up through the last four decades of rock. Despite seldomly performing live, the band has released two live albums.


Not much more I can add to the above (short) bio. What isn't mentioned is that their 1st 2 releases featured a vocalist, Kasper Markus, who I felt was the weakest part of the line-up. For me they took their music to another level after his departure, not having to rely on structuring their songs around his vocals. With their following albums I felt the band improved with every release, their most recent album, this year's Szabodelico, I think is their best yet.

For this collection I have included tracks from all 12 of their studio albums. Favourite albums by them are the aforementioned Szabodelico, and the preceding album Vibraciones Doradas released in 2017. As many of their songs are very long, I decided to forget about any time limits, which is why this collection comes in at almost 2 hours long instead of the usual 80 minutes max. As ever, info containing origin of each track & original year of release is tagged in the music files and in the download file.

A shoutout to my pal Moonglum, who I know will enjoy this latest anthology, he was very helpful regarding replacing my old knackered PC a few months back. So this is my sort of Christmas gift to him, but I hope you all enjoy this too. This will be my last post before Christmas so I hope you all manage somehow to have a good time, and stay safe! Cheers.

  1. Red Sun in June (7:02)
  2. Gelassenheit (11:47)
  3. Echo Springs (5:02)
  4. White Sun (9:55)
  5. Dust Meridian (10:07)
  6. Lucien's Beat (4:20)
  7. Where the Streams Collide (6:28)
  8. Rip Tide (5:26)
  9. El Fuego (11:24)
10. May Sun (4:30)
11. Vibratone (5:04)
12. Top of the Hill (4:04)
13. Eutopia (4:57)
14. Santa Sangre (8:15)
15. Seven Hills (7:22)
16. Mondo Buzzo (8:28)

  Download FLAC
  Download mp3