Sunday 26 April 2020

Gorky's Zygotic Mynci - Murder Ballads & Happy Endings

Gorky's Zygotic Mynci formed in 1991 in Carmarthen, Wales. Their best known lineup was Euros Childs (vocals, keyboards), his sister Megan Childs (violin, backing vocals), John Lawrence (guitar, vocals), Richard James (bass), and Euros Rowlands (drums). The band was formed by Euros Childs, James and Lawrence whilst still at school, and they have seen a number of lineup changes (perhaps most notably, the departure of Lawrence following 1999's Spanish Dance Troupe) during their existence. The band split in 2006.

Sounding like a bizarrely sweet and whimsical cross between progressive rock, psychedelia, and pure pop, Gorky's Zygotic Mynci were one of the most original and distinctive bands to emerge from the vital post-Brit-pop Welsh scene of the mid-'90s. Gorky's music followed unconventional time signatures and structures, as well as instrumentation (boasting everything from droning moog synthesizers to slurring trombones and steel guitars) and melodic patterns. Furthermore, the band's lyrics were rarely about conventional pop/rock subjects, and they frequently sang in Welsh, which made their already odd music sound even more alien to most listeners.

With their 1997 album Barafundle, the wide-ranging instrumentation remained ("Diamond Dew" has a prominent part for the jaw harp) and there were still psychedelic touches, but the album as a whole was more laid back than their earlier work, tending more towards folk music. This gentler direction was largely maintained and refined in their later records, though the occasional poppier and rockier number, such as "Poodle Rockin'" continued to crop up.

This was yet another collection which took some time to compile, I originally had the idea of doing a Gorky's anthology 6 months ago. Several aborted attempts meant I kept putting it on hold until a week ago when I decided to have one last go. I honestly don't know where I was going wrong with those previous attempts, maybe I was just taking the wrong approach, but this time around I found it much easier to compile. This is in no way a definitive compilation, like Elf Power or Vic Chesnutt I had a large back catologue to choose from. For some Gorky's fans there'll be a few glaring omissions, but I could easily have picked another 27 tracks and come up with a collection equal to this one.

Thanks to Manerg for his suggestions/advice for the artwork, and for putting up with my endless ramblings whenever I need that advice! Without his help a few of these collections might never have seen the light of day or been somewhat inferior. As ever, info containing track origin & year of release is tagged in the music files and in the download file. Take care everyone, hope you enjoy, and stay safe!

  1. Her Hair Hangs Long (5:00)
  2. Miss Trudy (2:41)
  3. Young Girls & Happy Endings (2:25)
  4. Don't You Worry (0:58)
  5. Fresher Than the Sweetness in Water (2:21)
  6. Barbed Wire (3:21)
  7. Bocs Angelica (1:56)
  8. Heywood Lane (2:51)
  9. Country (1:45)
10. Frozen Smile (1:20)
11. Un Hogyn Trist, Un Hogan Drist (3:10)
12. Poodle Rockin' (2:53)
13. Miniature Kingdoms (4:08)
14. Face Like Summer (2:55)
15. Murder Ballad (2:38)
16. Out on the Side (3:23)
17. Merched yn Neud Gwallt ei Gilydd (3:12)
18. Blood Chant (4:55)
19. Cân Megan (3:14)
20. Naw. E. Pimp (2:46)
21. Waking for Winter (3:19)
22. The Girl I've Always Known (2:26)
23. Diamond Dew (2:50)
24. Heart of Kentucky (4:12)
25. Tsunami (3:39)
26. No One Looked Around (1:49)
27. Hi ar Gân (3:04)

  Download FLAC
  Download mp3