Thursday 29 October 2020

King Creosote - Greetings from Anstruther, Fife


Short bio:
King Creosote is the stagename of Scottish singer-songwriter Kenny Anderson (from Fife, Scotland). After having featured in Scottish bands Skuobhie Dubh Orchestra and Khartoum Heroes, in 1995 Kenny Anderson launched the Fence record label and began recording albums under the name King Creosote. Since then, Anderson has released over forty albums, beginning with "Queen Of Brush County" in 1998. He was also a member of Scottish-Canadian 'supergroup', The Burns Unit.

In recent years, Anderson has teamed up with Domino Records who have co-released some of his albums. He also spent some time on Warner subsidiary, 679, which gave him major label backing for the first time. His increasing frustration with the music industry and how digital recordings are becoming throwaway commodities led him to release his material in small, vinyl only runs which were largely only available at concerts.
Complete (?) discography click here.

Well, this is probably the toughest anthology I've compiled so far. Of the 40+ albums released by him, I have 25. Seing him live back in 2005 I had the opportunity to buy many of his earliest releases, unfortunately I didn't have enough money on me so had to be content with the 4 CDs I could afford. Many of those early releases are now more or less impossible to find.

Because of the massive body of work, I found compiling a single disc of him wouldn't be sufficient, so I've extended this to a 2 disc collection, ranging from his first solo release to his most recent album from 2017. It could easily have been 3 or 4 discs. For me, all of his albums have been incredibly good, but my favourites are "12 O'Clock on the Dot", released in 2000, then "Rocket D.I.Y." from 2005 and "From Scotland with Love", released in 2014.

The 2nd disc was originally intended to consist of rarities, collaborations and some of the bands he's been a member of. I wasn't that happy with the end result, but a few of the rarer tracks did end up on disc 2. Maybe at a later date I'll give it another go. Info containing track origin & year of release is tagged in the music files and in the download file. I really hope you enjoy this 2 hour plus sojourn into the world of King Creosote, and as always... stay safe!

Disc 1:
  1. Let It Come (4:02)
  2. Happy With Our Lot (2:31)
  3. Klutz (2:10)
  4. Teapot (3:07)
  5. Home in a Sentence (2:58)
  6. Rims (4:53)
  7. An Ode to Falling Overboard (2:35)
  8. Tortoise Regrets Hare (3:35)
  9. Unaware of the Grip (5:37)
10. On the Night of the Bonfire (2:43)
11. Over the Top (1:45)
12. Not One Bit Ashamed (4:53)
13. The Minter Scale (4:26)
14. For One Night Only (4:07)
15. Mantra-Rap (2:30)
16. Sunny-Side Up (3:34)
17. Asylum Clothing (3:57)
18. Love Life (4:13)
19. Doubles Underneath (4:02)
20. Impossible to Resist (4:22)
21. This Flaw That Flaw (4:58)
22. End Underlined (2:52)

Disc 2:
  1. Home Creatures (4:59)
  2. You've No Clue Do You (3:20)
  3. Grace (5:31)
  4. The Soak (3:35)
  5. Moral Tenderhooks (3:05)
  6. Little Heart (3:00)
  7. Pie in the Sky (4:00)
  8. I Believe It's True (4:34)
  9. My Favourite Girl (5:32)
10. Saffy Nool (4:36)
11. Voices (1:52)
12. Promises (3:29)
13. Waterfall (3:45)
14. Goodbye Mrs. Hyde (3:49)
15. The Grime Reaper (1:31)
16. Dial C for Cradle (3:24)
17. Largs (3:50)
18. Give It Up (3:27)
19. Ankle Shackles (11:34)